top of page
Search
  • hollandauctions

Enough with the Rain, Already!

So, the first few days it was cool, even kind of exciting, to be able to say that you walked part of your camino through the rain Ive been blessed with great weather overall, but this is now the 7th or so day in a row that it is raining, and at the risk of sounding petulant, I've had enough...

The monastery in Sobrado... They had heat..

You know what comes next... hours of forest and woodland walking... so let's get on with those photos...








Today is my last day on the Camino del Norte... Later today I will walk into Arzua, and join the mass of pilgrims who spill onto the Camino Frances from various routes... I literally see no one on today's walk...

... which must mean that this tree I had to climb over didn't really fall...

Shabby chic?

Never far from redemption..

I love these old stone buildings...

Rain clouds are starting to dominate my days...



You'll notice the road getting more wet...

More clouds full of rain. .

Even the sheep know the drill, as they move to hide in the open barn when the skies open...

The rain can be pretty, unless you're walking in it...

Another fixer user...

Check out the details on this dilapidated dwelling!

At this point the rain was coming down so hard I couldn't see, so I took shelter in a bus stop, and the road looked more like a stream...

Daily moo fix...

Still some hills to climb...

I'm gonna miss this...

I finally make it to Arzua, soaked and chilled to the core, but it's never a bad time to hydrate... and these Radlers have electrolytes as well...that's why I often have two!

I try to walk around Arzua, but it is still raining, so I am only able to snap a couple of interesting architectural features...

Not much going on in Arzua, but the rain continues to fall...

I have a hankering for a better meal tonight and find a well rated cute restaurant to check out, but when I get there, they are full for the night... Instead, I am directed to a bar down the street, where the TVs are on full blare for the Barcelona soccer game, and I share my table with a German teacher who just drinks a beer, because that's what Germans do... I order the scallops to start, and they are slighty overcooked..

Admittedly, there are few choices at this bar, but I roll the dice with marinated pork topped with a local cheese sauce, served with fries, and it is oddly satisfying...

Distance walked today- 25 kms...

TOTAL DISTANCE TRAVELLED SO FAR- 878 KMS

71 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page